They Said That

 

foolPeople in the limelight can
say some pretty stupid stuff.

And I’m not just talking
about those heat-of-the-moment
‘who-knew-I-wuz-bein-taped-
for-a-later-custody-battle’ things….

I’m talking about when they know
darn well somebody’s writing down
what they were saying.

We all know about the out-of-touch/
out-of-their-minds crap politicians say…
— that’s a given.

Hell, hearing an
Imelda Marcos type quote like:

“I get so tired listening to
one million dollars here,meworry
one million dollars there, it’s so petty.”

is just par for the course
for those in political circles…….

I refuse to even mention this last election,
but back in his 2012 campaign,
Mitt Romney babbled:

I believe in an America
where millions of Americans
believe in an America
that’s the America millions
of Americans believe in.
That’s the America I love
.”

Ummm… yeah… whaaa?

I guess we all know GW2
wasn’t the brightest bulb in the pack either…..
so why be surprised when he,
during the 2008 campaign, said:

” Too many OB/GYN’s aren’t able to
practice their love with women
all across the country”
???

Joe Biden, always a source of
unintentional mirth, showed how
much attention he paid in
math class with his:

Look, John’s last-minute economic planthree
does nothing to tackle the number-one job
facing the middle class, and it happens to be,
as Barack says, a three-letter word:
jobs. J-O-B-S, jobs.”

Dan Quayle, former VP of the U.S,
was also known for his verbal brain farts,
like the time he greeted a large Illinois crowd thus:

It is wonderful to be here in the great state of Chicago!kick

I dunno.

Maybe it’s a slip of the tongue,
or just an absence of the brain,
that caused the mayor of the
Capitol city Marion Barry to explain that:

You take out the killings,
Washington actually
has a very low crime rate
“.fooda

Oh.

Thank you for that.

I know you don’t have to be a
rocket scientist to play sports, sure.

Still, I couldn’t believe I heard him say it……

They were interviewing baseball player
Pedro Guererro ….
and he was explaining that reporters3
are the reason he’s got a negative
image with some of the public.

” Sometimes they write what I say
and not what I mean.”

Yeah… that’s prob…. wait…., huh????

( I wonder what he meant by that ? )

 

The reporters I know have trouble enoughwisdom
expressing what THEY want to say, without
having to be mind reading interpreters
for double talking sports figures.

Sometimes I’m not sure
whether what celebs
say is stupid or just a Freudian slip…….

Chicago Cubs player Andre Dawson
was trying to explain being a good
role model when  he let this one fly……

” I want all the kids to do what I do,
to look up to me.
I want all the kids to copulate me.”

I think there might be laws about that, Andre……..

Here’s one I liked from basketball player
Shaquille ONeal that really doesn’t need4
much interpretation…..

…. he was asked if he had visited
the Parthenon while on a recent visit to Greece.

 

He replied: ” I can’t really remember
the names of the clubs that we went to.”

Oh yeah…
I bet he got a lot out of that visit.

As I said, I know you don’t have 6
to be a great thinker to be a sports figure.

And it’s a lucky thing, too.

Danny Ozark, manager of the
Philadelphia Phillies in the 70’s,
has some trouble with math, it seems…..

While explaining the intricacies of baseball ,
he stated that:

” Half this game is ninety percent mental.”

 

That’s right, buddy….. swing for the fences.

Of course, you don’t have to be
a sports hero to say stupid stuff.wisdom1

Celebrities, on the other hand,
are supposed to be better at speaking in public, right?

Entertainers have been known
to make a slip of the brain now and then ……

Assuming there’s any brain being used at all……

Actress Laura Dern was asked
about the special effects being
used on the movie “Jurassic Park”,
when she gushed this gem:

” You can hardly tell where the
computer models finish and the real dinosaurs begin.”

 

Maybe there’s something to that
whole ‘LSD causes
genetic damage’ stuff…….7

Deep thinkers usually aren’t the
ones who are drawn to
Hollywood stardom, I guess.

That philosophical wellspring
of an actress Alicia Silverstone once quipped:

” I think that the film ‘Clueless’
was very deep. I think it was deep
in the way that it was very light.
I think lightness has to come
from a very deep place if it’s true lightness.”

Got it.

Clear as mud.wisdom2

Wow, and people had her pegged as vacuous.

Singer Mariah Carey was commenting
on the victims of a recent famine:

” Whenever I watch TV and see those
poor starving kids all over the world,
I can’t help but cry.

I mean I’d love to be skinny like that,
but not with all those flies and death and stuff.”

You know, Mariah,
your sensitivity just overwhelms me.

And people say that celebrities
are spoiled and out of touch.

That’s not the only unfair wisdom3
criticism of celebrities, though…..

I’ve actually heard people
say that celebrities
can let their egos get
a little out of hand, as well.

Awwwww…..
say it ain’t so.

Here’s one from Mister Modesty
himself, Jerry Lewis:

” People hate me because I am a
multifaceted, talented, wealthy,
internationally famous genius.”

Well, I can’t speak for everyone,
but that’s not really an accurate statement.7505230_f496

 

Despite having done some very
good film work in the 60’s,
…………. I hate him because
he’s an obnoxious ego-maniac.

Being famous and all the rest of
that jazz got nothin to do with it.

( and he can’t sing worth a damn, either. )

Ahhh… show biz….
it brings out the best in people, doesn’t it?

.
!!!!!! HOY !!!!!!!!!!

17 thoughts on “They Said That

  1. jillianmrks says:

    I laughed out loud when I read these quotes. Hilarious from start to finish. Great post, Chris. I think we all can use some comic relief right about now 🙂

  2. mislucja says:

    I can’t stand jerry either 😉

  3. mislucja says:

    I can’t stand jerry either 😉

  4. Yes, it does!
    And. Oh. Lordy! 😮 :-/
    Some of these are funny and some are scary!
    HUGS!!!
    PS…I am rarely idle, but I seem to still end up in sin. 😉 :mrgreen:

  5. ktz2 says:

    Maybe explore the stupidity of the Vice Presidents..’I invented the internet!’. .’I cant’s spell potato!’

  6. ktz2 says:

    Good one ! and no shortage of material for sequels

  7. Many smiles here- across the board- but those are fighting words about Jerry Lewis haha

  8. julespaige says:

    A marvelous post, darling – really just marvelous! 😉

Leave a Comment -- I'd Love to Hear From You !

