I Think, Therefore I No

Some people find
absolutely nothing
funny about philosophy.

I find it hilarious.

Maybe part of the reason is,
it’s the only subject that
really makes you realize
that the more you learn,
the less you really know.

The sheer futility of it
has to make you laugh.

And if it wasn’t for Nihilism,
a lot of people would have
nothing to believe in.

Ok- so,
you might have
to let that sink in a bit….

In the meantime,
some music
to philosophize by,
— and another joke.

The French existentialist
philosopher Jean-Paul Sartre
is sitting at a French cafe,
revising his draft of
“Being and Nothingness”.
He says to the waitress:
“I’d like a cup of
coffee, please,
with no cream.”

To which the waitress
replies: “I’m sorry,
monsieur, but we’re
out of cream.
What about with
no milk instead
?”

Ahem.

Ok– so, I didn’t say
it was a hilarious joke….

But it does illustrate the
humor that is inherent in
philosophy —

A line of reasoning that
might at first seem like
a matter of semantics
can quickly spiral into
the carnfusing-est mass of
possibilities about how
you choose to look at things.

It’s about choice –
and even if you say
that you refuse to choose,
well, you’ve still made
a choice of some kind.

Complicated, ain’t it ?

But I’m really not trying
to burn out your synapses
freak you out, or to
bring on some kinda
existential crisis …..
(been there, done that)

Truthfully, I’m more
like that Soupy Sales guy —

(or Space Ghost, if you’re
so irritatingly young as
to not remember that
Soupy Sales guy….. )

I’m just here setting up
the next cartoon.

Enjoy.

.

PS: Thanks to Jen at Blog It Or Lose It
for the Donut Philosophy cartoon.

18 thoughts on “I Think, Therefore I No

  1. Tournesol says:

    Love them all, especially the kid writing a book report. The title of it could be Parents, be careful what you wish for!

    Last week I had my clinical supervision and the subject (call or case) was a college student referring to have gone through an existential crisis. I don’t like labels and stayed away from his term and asked, what does that look like? How does one behave in a crisis like that? etc…my. supervisor asked me why I didn’t address it (I did later in the call ) but I told him how I steer away from fads, labels, imagining my supervisor and his peers (French Québécois) sitting on a terrasse, heads shaking, smoking des Gitannes or MJ and questioning their mere existence on earth. Of course he laughed but got my message..

    Brilliant post as usual, Chris!

  2. My answer to the Philosophical question of “Why?” has always been “Because!”.

  3. J.D. Riso says:

    Hahaha. I’ve always had a laugh at philosophy. Philosophers take themselves so seriously! Dada is the only school (or rather non-school) that I abide by. Choose to not make a choice! Forever and ever amen. 😀

  4. Love the explanations using donuts! 😀

    I ONLY passed my Philosophy classes in college, because the male professor liked me. A lot. 🙂 My brain is not wired for Philosophy…it’s wired for sexual innuendo and double entendre. 😀

    HUGS!!! 🙂

  5. mislucja says:

    That music joke is a hoot, fella ! 😀
    Love this post 🙂

  6. Aquileana says:

    Brilliant!… 😀 I love the Donut image & explanation… I lost Wittgenstein´s references, though… I don´t know anything about him, to be honest… I´ll have to read something (at least a Wikipedia article) to know a little bit about his ideas 😀 xx

    • Hahahaha— I think his main emphasis seems to have been detaching the world of everyday experience from the realm of philosophy altogether…. which is a strange perspective for a philosopher. ! 😀

  7. Mrs Fever says:

    If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice…

    * insert Rush tribute here *

Leave a Comment -- I'd Love to Hear From You !

